Board of Directors

2021 DRBA Board of Directors 




President, Sonya Wolen, Danville, VA

Retired Science Educator


Vice President, Wayne Kirkpatrick, Stuart, VA

Retired dairy farmer; Certified water quality monitoring trainer


Treasurer, Shawn Gorman, Greensboro, NC

Retired Manager, Celanese Acetate, LLC, and current Business Development Mentor


Secretary, Margaret Petty, Eden, NC

Retired English Teacher



Valencia Abbott, Reidsville, NC

History/Social Studies Teacher at Rockingham Early College High School/Rockingham County Schools


Mark Bishopric, Eden, NC

President, Spray Cotton Mills; Partner, Three Rivers Outfitters


Tyler Carter, Rocky Mount, VA

Commercial Banker, Carter Bank & Trust


Jessica Driver, Java, VA

Agricultural Inspector for the Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, Office of Plant Industry Services


Mark Estes, South Boston, VA

Executive Director, Halifax County Service Authority


Paul Johnson, Fieldale, VA

Retired Director, Halifax County-South Boston Regional Library


Tory Mabe, Sandy Ridge, NC

Tourism Manager, Stokes County, NC


JoAndra (Jo) Proia, Summerfield, NC

Owner, Outdoor Women by Jo Proia, LLC


Jim Tobin, Martinsville, VA

Retired Director Piedmont Community Services


Will Truslow, Greensboro, NC

Retired Physician


Fletcher Waynick, Reidsville, NC

Operations Manager, Museum and Archives of Rockingham County (MARC)



Board Members are recruited by a nominating committee. Potential members are chosen for areas of expertise, geographic location, regional demographics, and a willingness to serve as a board member. The names are submitted and voted on by the association members at DRBA’s annual meeting the first Saturday of March.